Activism in the Digital Age

 

Critical Reflection:

For this assignment, I chose to focus on Digital Activism and how it has changed activism and how these changes are affecting society. To start the creative process of making this video I first started brainstorming ideas of videos I enjoy watching and highlighted the bits about them that I liked, some videos and creators that came to mind where Casey Neistat, John Oliver and Charlie Pickering. I decided to try and create a sort of talk show style video just with less of a focus on comedy and more on the content. From here I developed a storyboard so I could start to visualise the specific shots I would be using in my video. The technique of planning was very useful for the paper animation at the end of the video as it allowed me to fully understand each shot and the specific elements that I would need to create that scene. The content of my video includes myself speaking to the camera with accompanying photos to emphasise the topics of discussion. To end the video, I created a paper animation outlining the 4 steps to creating a revolution.

All the video content in the video is my own creation except for the pictures overlaid on the footage and the music. The music is all creative commons music found on Sound Cloud, to find the music for this video I simply searched sound cloud for creative commons music that was appropriate for use as background music in my video. I used a total of two songs that I used to help change up between the 2 different scenes. Pictures I used as overlays during the first half of the video were I am speaking to the camera. I used them as visual representations of the content I was discussing in the video. All the pictures were found on Flickr and are under creative commons licences. For the video, I chose to make a short paper animation to help conclude my video. I did this by drawing and moving the paper to create the animation.

To draw on scholarly sources for my video I made sure to spend a significant time researching each topic I had planned out for the video. I spent most of my time researching the topics to have a full and broad understanding of each part of activism and how digital media is affecting it. I then used these sources by linking to them during my discussion in the video and highlighted key points while also discussing the sources in a broad sense. I used the Deakin library website to find all my scholarly sources.

While filming the video I faced a few challenges. Due to using a DSLR camera I had the issue with it not focusing while filming and therefore having to redo shots due to the clips being slightly out of focus. Then while exporting the video I also had an issue with footage not having been imported correctly and learnt that importing footage off the SD onto the computer first before importing into iMovie is extremely important. Overall I learn a lot in the creation of the video and have enjoyed the experience greatly, the skills of how to edit the video are extremely useful and the creativity that making this video required me to use was also a great experience as many assignments often do not allow for such high levels of creativity.

References:

Lotan, G., Graeff, E., Ananny, M., Gaffney, D., Pearce, I., & boyd, d. 2011. ‘The Arab Spring| The Revolutions Were Tweeted: Information Flows during the 2011 Tunisian and Egyptian Revolutions’ International Journal Of Communication, vol. 5, no. 31, Viewed 23 May 2017.

Tucker, J, Metzger, M, Penfold-Brown, D, Bonneau, R, Jost, J, Nagler, J 2015, ‘Protest in the Age of Social Media’, Medium, 9 January, retrieved 23 May 2017, <https://medium.com/carnegie-corporation-international-peace-and/protest-in-the-age-of-social-media-7ae9fd940b06>.

Peters, T 2016, ‘Trump and Brexit used a new digital organizing tool to help achieve their surprise victories’, Medium, 20 December, retrieved 23 May 2017, <https://medium.com/@uCampaignapp/how-trump-and-brexit-used-a-new-digital-organizing-tool-to-win-their-surprise-victories-ceca7c720b3>.

Glenn, C.L., 2015. Activism or “Slacktivism?”: Digital Media and Organizing for Social Change. Communication Teacher, 29(2), pp.81-85.

Hands, J 2011, @ Is For Activism: Dissent, Resitance And Rebellion In A Digital Culture, n.p.: London; New York, NY: Pluto, 2011., DEAKIN UNIV LIBRARY’s Catalog, EBSCOhost, viewed 23 May 2017.

Music:
Music: Pure Cinematic (Link) By Amoebacrew Free Music [CC BY-NC]
Music: Sun (Link) By Amoebacrew Free Music [CC BY-NC]

 

Pictures:
Picture: Tahrir Flags (Link) By AK Rockefeller [CC BY-SA 2.0]
Picture: New Mouse (Link) By Erin Kohlenberg [CC BY 2.0]
Picture: Occupy Wall Street (Link) By Paul Stein [CC BY-SA 2.0]
Picture: IMG_6042 (Link) By Sasha Maksymenko [CC BY 2.0]
Picture: Banksy does Brexit (Link) By Duncan Hull [CC BY 2.0]

 

My broader ALC203 related online activity:
After completing assignment 1 my overall online activity dropped as I focused on other assignments that were coming up. However, I did still manage to post some tweets and write a few blog posts on both my blogs (Robtheaus & Modern Twenties). Now that the unit has finished I plan on working out how I can continue my online activity while also having other university units to do.

 

2 thoughts on “Activism in the Digital Age

Leave a Reply

